Halfway to Adulthood

It’s not that it’s hard to believe that I am halfway done with my college career but rather that I refuse to believe I am halfway done with my college career.

Coming to a school 900 miles away from home, I came in only knowing one person and even that find was a lucky one. Like many others I had to establish a new friend group, find my niche and transfer my mindset from high school to college, but as I wrap up my sophomore year I wouldn’t trade any of these experiences for the world. 

The friends I’ve made and memories I’ve created these past two years have really been one for the books. I didn’t expect to make (what I’m assuming to be) life long friends so effortlessly and quickly and I couldn’t imagine my college career being spent with anyone besides them. It’s crazy to think in just two short years, they know me better than I know myself, have seen me at my highest and my lowest, know some of my deepest, darkest secrets, as well as my obnoxious behaviors and still look forward to hanging out with me on the weekends. 

I’ve gained so much knowledge from some incredible professors and have fostered a sense of thinking that I truly enjoy. Everyone I’ve come in contact with has taught me something about myself or the world around me and I love finding that in new people I meet. 

There’s nothing I look forward to more than these next two years and the new people I’ll meet, places I’ll go and things I’ll learn.

I’m convinced that whoever said high school is the best four years of your life must have went to community college. 

Leave a Reply

